Koiter lecture & Biezeno award

Koiter lecturers

For over twenty years the prestigious Koiter lecture has marked the scientific opening of the annual EM symposium. The Koiter lecture is delivered by renowned scientist in the field of engineering mechanics. The Graduate School on Engineering Mechanics is enormously proud to have hosted the Koiter lecturers:

2019Marco Amabili
2018Bill Curtin
2017Zhigang Suo
2016Kurt Maute
2015Stefanie Reese
2014Anja Boisen
2013Wolfgang Wall
2012Roger Owen
2011Oded Gottlieb
2010Herbert Mang
2009Charbel Farhat
2008Gerhard Holzapfel
2007Bernhard Schrefler
2006Alan Needleman
2005Peter Wriggers
2004Alan Grodzinsky
2003Ole Sigmund
2002Norman Fleck
2001Edwin Kreuzer
2000Ekkehard Ramm
1999John Hutchinson
1998Pieter Zandbergen
Werner Schiehlen

Biezeno award winners

Since 2013 the EM symposium is the podium of the ceremony to celebrate the Biezeno award for the annual best PhD thesis in the field of engineering mechanics in The Netherlands. The awardee has the honor of closing the EM symposium with a plenary lecture about his/her work.

2019Frits de PrenterPreconditioned iterative solution techniques for immersed finite element methods: with applications in immersed isogeometric analysis for solid and fluid mechanics, Eindhoven University of Technology
2018Pim VersteijlenIdentification of effective 1D soil models for large-diameter offshore wind turbine foundations based on in situ seismic measurements and 3D modelling, Delft University of Technology
2017Hayo HendrikseIce-induced vibrations of offshore structures, Delft University of Technology
2016Francesco MarescaMulti-scale modeling of plasticity and damage of lath martensite in multi-phase steels, Eindhoven University of Technology
2016Apostolos TsouvalasUnderwater noise generated by offshore pile driving, Delft University of Technology
2015Awais AhmedComputational modeling of progressive failure in FRP composite laminates subjected to static and impact transverse loading, Delft University of Technology
2014Steven BoerModel reduction of flexible multibody systems, with application to large-stroke compliant precision mechanisms, University of Twente
2013Lars BeexMultiscale quesicontinuum modeling of fibrous materials, Eindhoven University of Technology