Poster contest:
During each EM Symposium the PhD students of the Graduate School present their research projects in two poster sessions . A jury selects the best three contributions. The winning contributions of the poster contests at past EM Symposia were:


Lei Liu (TUe) A multi-scale framework towards prediction of the martensite/ferrite interface damage initiation
Alva Bechlenberg (RuG)The Ocean Grazer – Simulating complex interactions and nonlinear behaviours of a dense wave energy converter array
Juan Esteban Alvarez Naranjo (UT)Thermo-mechanical modelling of polymer sintering
Andrea Cupertino (TUD)High-Q spiderweb nanomechanical resonators by Bayesian optimization


V. Shah (TU/e) Spatially dependent kinetics of helium in tungsten under fusion conditions Gooijer(UT)Propagation of variation through multi-stage metal forming processes
A. Chandrashekar(TUD)On the dynamical integrity of tapping mode atomic force microscopy


F. Bormann (TU/e)Nano-scale study on dislocation induced phase boundary decohesion
O. Nejadseyfi (UT)Analytical assessment of uncertainty propagation during metal forming processes
E.A. van de Ven (TUD)Continuous front propagation-based overhang control for topology optimization with additive manufacturing

PhD Presentation Contest:
Starting in the year 2000 the EM Graduate School also organizes a PhD Presentation Contest within the framework of the EM Symposium. A jury consisting of the workshop organizers awards prizes for the best PhD presentation at each of the symposium workshops. The winning contributions were:


Rinus Hoogesteger (TU/e)“Feeling” buried features, a nonlineardynamical approach
Sumit Mohanty (UT)Acoustically-powered bubbles: from metamaterials to
Andrea Cupertino (TUD)
High-Q spiderweb nanomechanical resonators by
Bayesian optimization
Hugo Verhelst (TUD)A Parallel Adaptive Arc-Length Method


Bram van der Weg (UT) Interactive crash simulation
Nick Hoksbergen (UT) Leading edge erosion of wind turbine blades
Nicky Jonkers (TU/e) Experimental characterization and modeling of the
mechanical behavior of brittle 3D printed food
Yousef Shaheen (UT) From Discrete to Continuum with MercuryCG:
Applications in Additive Manufacturing


Boukje de Gooijer (UT)Reduction methods in metamodeling of metal forming processes
Max van der Kolk (TUD)Topology optimization of transient thermo-mechanical metamaterials
Awital Mannheim (TU/e)Tungsten in the fusion reactor wall: predicting and improving the microstructural evolution, using multi?scale modelling
Robin Dolleman (TUD)Graphene gas- and osmotic pressure sensors


Yabin Yang (TUD)Computationally efficient thermo-mechanical modelling metal additive manufacturing
Rody van Tuijl (TU/e)Wavelet-Reduced Order Modelling
Rianne Luimes (TU/e)Climate-induced cracks in wooden art objects
Mark Rijnen (TU/e)On closed-loop trajectory tracking for impacting mechanical systems


Emiel van de Ven (TUD)Imposing the minimum overhang angle in topology optimisation for additive manufacturing
Masoud Dorosti (TU/e)Iterative pole-zero model updating for prediction of performance variables
Hao Shi (UT)Experimental investigation of limestone powders using different shear devices
Farnaz Tajdari (UT)Numerical modeling of electrical-mechanical-acoustical behavior of a lumped acoustic source driven by a piezoelectric stack actuator

Over the coming period all essential material from the old Engineering Mechanics website will be archived at While this process is ongoing, the old website can still be accessed through this link.

Note that the old site will not be maintained anymore. When all essential information is transferred, the old site will be taken offline.